Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic?

by marciaverleta

Magic

Magic

I have been here before.  A very powerful place.  It seems small and insignificant but it holds an incredible influence over varied groups of people.  I appear trivial and insignificant, but yet I have this incredible position.  They marvel at me and wonder how come the great and revered leader came across such an odd creature.  Every eye questions my existence.  Some just figure that the leader is getting too old and less wiser.  Some marvel at the luck I have.  Few even dare to say, “He is lucky to have you because none would dare tolerate him.”  For they know that position isn’t an easy one.

At first I was overwhelmed.  I paid attention to every detail, every word and everything that I did right or wrong.  I took my position almost too seriously.  Fortunately for me as the leader’s powers began to wane more and more was required of me.  I began to see myself as failing.  I questioned my qualifications for my position and what difference I could bring.  I could think of nothing.  Sadness began to set in and remain.  Then my unseen opponents attacked without mercy. They sneered and banded against me.  This was not strange to me, but unexpected as there was no just cause to hate me. I felt something growing inside me.  I became very angry.

I often heard them plotting and discussing my shortcomings.  All along they had undermined me. Jealousy had caused them to unite against me. They believed that I was undeserving of our leader’s attention and favor.  As far as I was concerned, I had done them no wrong. Nevertheless, no kindness, gifts or efforts to share my accomplishments and knowledge helped me to win them.  I appeared weaker and weaker so they openly showed their thoughts and feelings and set out to destroy me.  Once again I felt something inside me brewing. It steadily grew.  I was changing.

My mood became dark.  My senses taunted me more and more. I became haunted by their presence.  They were sharpened by the unfolding circumstances.  I can not put my finger upon it, but my body, mind and spirit was inhibited by a force filled with mischief. I became crafty and filled with cunning. My body, disposition and appearance had all remained the same.  What had changed?  They stared at me questioning this new being.  The plans were already set to destroy me, but it was as if I had completely changed.

These powers that I used disarmed them. The leader was no longer ignorant of their hate of his new protégé. So he watched as if he had no care to see what would unfold.  It is strange to think that even he would be surprised at the new me.  He watched me cautiously.  The rewards he received were recognition and greater gains from my new undertakings.  He was pleased.  You ask, “Do you believe in Magic?”  Yes I do but I can not tell you where and how it comes from me.

Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic?

